1. How does/did your military experience aid you in college? What are the negatives and positives?

One thought on “1. How does/did your military experience aid you in college? What are the negatives and positives?

  1. Hello this is Joshua Riley a member of Open Ranks, (NVC Vet Club)

    My military experience has helped my mental focus. Students can be talking all around me or phones could be going off, I can remain focused on the professor. My experience also allows me to know there is nothing that I can’t do. I can figure it out and then adapt and thrive. I think the negative is the inability to understand the lack of focus from people whom are paying for school. I acknowledge the maturity difference, and the lack of structure in some peoples thought process. For example I had a person in a class; the person told me that they were having problems with the class. I asked what the plan to correct that was or try to get a better understanding. They said that they would miss a few classes and then come back refreshed. Maybe that is an effective strategy, but that is not a military response to say the least.

Leave a Reply

